UNT System

UNT System

Office of the Chancellor

Chancellor Lee F. Jackson

Lee Jackson was appointed Chancellor of the University of North Texas System on September 1, 2002 after a 30-year career in government in Dallas and the State of Texas.

The Chancellor reports to the UNT System Board of Regents who are appointed by the Governor of Texas. Chancellor Jackson is responsible for System initiatives and policy direction, planning, and oversight for three campuses: University of North Texas (Denton), UNT Health Science Center (Fort Worth) and UNT Dallas.

Chancellor Jackson is a member of the Board of Directors of the Diabetes Health and Wellness Institute, DOWNTOWNDallas, the Dallas Citizens Council and the Dallas Education Foundation. He also serves on the board of the North Texas Regional Center for Innovation and Commercialization. He is past chairman of the Association of Texas Colleges and Universities and the Texas Council of Public University Presidents and Chancellors.

Lee Jackson began his career in the Dallas City Manager’s Office, served 10 years in the Texas House of Representatives, and was elected four times as Dallas County Judge, chief elected official in the State’s second largest county.

He received many awards for regional leadership, initiated new programs in juvenile justice, air quality, and transportation, and led the opening of the Sixth Floor Museum, which has become the premiere visitor attraction in downtown Dallas.

His international activities have included:

  • UNT System Delegation to Istanbul Conference on Democracy and Global Security (2007)
  • Presentation of UNT Honorary Doctoral Degree to the King of Thailand (2004)
  • Dallas Community Leaders Study Tour in Israel (2000)
  • Service as a U.S. Consultant to Romania (1999)
  • U.S. Delegate to Argentina/Uruguay with the American Council of Young Political Leaders (1987)
  • The Texas High Speed Rail Inspection Team (France/Germany, 1987)
  • Delegate to the 1985 Japan-Texas Conference in Tokyo

Chancellor Jackson was born in Austin, Texas.  He attended Dallas public schools, received his B.A. in Political Science from Duke University and his Masters of Public Administration from SMU.


Awards Received
Pitstick Regional Leadership Award, North Central Texas Council of Governments (2000)
Russell Perry Award, Texas Department of Transportation (1999)
TEAM Award Winner, North Texas Commission (1999)
Dallas Best Public Official, D Magazine, (1996)
Road Hand Award, Texas Good Roads Association (1990)
Ten Best Legislators, Texas Monthly (1983)
Legislative All-Star, D Magazine (1981)

"University of North Texas," "UNT," "Discover the power of ideas" and their associated identity marks, as well as the eagle and talon graphic marks, are official trademarks of the University of North Texas; their use by others is legally restricted. If you have questions about using any of these marks, please contact the Division of University Relations, Communications and Marketing at (940) 565-2108 or e-mail branding@untsystem.edu. © 2012 University of North Texas System.