Skip to main content

Top Navigation

History Timeline

  • 2008

    UNT System acquires 1901 Main Street in Downtown Dallas as an eight-story classroom and office facility

  • 2006

    UNT System acquires Majestic Lofts, located at 1900 Elm Street in Downtown Dallas

  • 2002

    Dr. Al Hurley retires as UNT System Chancellor and Board of Regents appoints Dallas County Judge Lee F. Jackson as Chancellor

  • 2001

    UNT System acquires 202 acres of attractive undeveloped land between Camp Wisdom Road and IH20 to be the permanent campus of UNTD

  • 2001

    Gov. Rick Perry signs Senate Bill 576, formally approving the creation of an independent the University of North Texas at Dallas

  • 2001

    Formal System status takes effect on January 1 with System offices headquartered in Denton , UNT campus in Denton

  • 2000

    Board of Regents appoint Dr. Norval Pohl as President of UNT, while Dr. Hurley becomes the UNT System's first full-time Chancellor

  • 2000

    Board of Regents separate Chancellor and UNT President positions

  • 1999

    Senate Bill 751 passes to formally create the University of North Texas System

  • 1993

    TCOM renamed University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth