Board of Regents

Board of Regents seal

The Board of Regents, the governing body for the University of North Texas System, is composed of nine distinguished and dedicated Texans who are appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate. Regent terms last for six years and are staggered so that three members are appointed every two years during the legislative session. The Governor also appoints a non-voting Student Regent for a one-year term, beginning on June 1 of each year. 

Throughout its history, the Board of Regents has been composed of ardent advocates for excellence in quality of education, research, service and leadership, supporting institutional and regional growth and success. 


Regent Term

Members with term set to expire May 2027

Ashok (A.K.) Mago
Laura Wright
Lindy Rydman

Members with term set to expire May 2023

Carlos Munguia
Mary Denny
Milton B. Lee

Members with term set to expire May 2025

Melisa Denis
Daniel Feehan
John Scott Jr.